anatomy of teeth

Human teeth are composed of different parts, including:

1. Enamel: This is the hard, outermost layer of the tooth that protects the underlying dentin and pulp.

2. Dentin: This is the layer of the tooth that lies beneath the enamel. It is softer than enamel and contains tiny tubules that connect to the nerve endings in the pulp.

3. Pulp: This is the soft tissue inside the tooth that contains blood vessels, nerves, and connective tissue.

4. Cementum: This is a layer of hard, bony tissue that covers the root of the tooth and helps to anchor it in the jawbone.

5. Root canal: This is a narrow channel that runs from the pulp to the tip of the root and contains the tooth’s nerve and blood supply.

6. Crown: This is the visible part of the tooth that is above the gum line.

7. Gum line: This is the area where the tooth meets the gum tissue.

8. Periodontal ligament: This is a group of fibers that attach the tooth to the surrounding bone and gum tissue.